ETIAS Visa Waiver: Which Countries Will Be Affected?

The EU has launched the European Travel Information and Authorization System (ETIAS) to guard the European borders. The visa waiver initiative will be effective towards the end of 2022. After implementing ETIAS, tourists will need to fill in an ETIAS application before going to any nations in the Schengen Area.

It is vital for the Schengen Area states that do not require their visitors to have a visa. ETIAS gives travel permits to business persons and tourists. However, its authorization does not extend to those visiting an ETIAS country for studies or work.

The ETIAS Launch

Though the launch of this visa waiver program is anticipated by the end of next year, it is likely to become mandatory in 2023. Initially, the launch was planned for 2021, but officials in Europe extended the timeline. This extension would give time for more setup preparations for the system.

The European Commission is yet to give any additional information on the specific dates regarding the ETIAS release and implementation. You can find out more details about the system on

Countries Requiring an ETIAS Approval System

Currently, an ETIAS is required for travelers in 60 countries that wish to visit 26 states in the Schengen Zone. Any visitor from Brazil, Peru, Japan, Hong Kong, Israel, Dominica, Australia, New Zealand, Singapore, among others, will need an ETIAS to enter the Schengen Zone countries.

The 26 states included in the Schengen Zone are Greece, Malta, Italy, Czech Republic, Hungary, Spain, and Portugal. In the coming years, more countries are likely to add to this list. Citizens of nations that can visit European regions without a visa will need an ETIAS.

Is an ETIAS Required for Foreign Citizens in Europe?

European nationalities will not require an ETIAS application. However, some foreign citizens in Europe could require an ETIAS before traveling to other countries. Those residing in any European country will not need an ETIAS to continue living in their country. The ETIAS system only affects travel in Europe. Any foreign national that needs a Schengen travel visa to visit other countries in Europe will still require a Schengen visa. For this reason, these foreign nationals will not need an ETIAS.

Nonetheless, residents that do not require a Schengen visa to visit European countries may need an ETIAS to tour European countries outside their state of residency. Depending on their nationality and the state visa laws, they may be required to apply for an ETIAS. There is yet to be any confirmation on the visa waiver laws. This is especially true for situations like the UK, which has exited Europe.

There is still uncertainty on whether UK nationals will need an ETIAS once the system is officially launched. As the launch date closes in the coming months, full details on ETIAS requirements will be available. Foreign citizens in Europe can confirm their ETIAS application to travel to other European countries.



Final Word

For citizens who require an ETIAS, the application process will be more straightforward than the Schengen visa application. Once you fill in a short form online, you can submit your application within 20 minutes. While a visa could take months to be processed, ETIAS will be faster. An ETIAS will get you to various countries in Europe while access permits entry to a specific country.


Leave a Comment