Gold House’s A100 List for 2022 Includes Olivia Rodrigo, Ashley Park, Simu Liu and More


There are countless accomplishments to be celebrated every May during Asian Pacific American Heritage Month, and Gold House — a nonprofit collective that seeks to promote equity and more authentic Asian and Pacific Islander representation — is always ready to shine a spotlight on amazing APIs whose influence has made profound impacts on their respective industries. This year’s celebrations reflect a stunning show of resilience, with the API community responding to a horrifying period of anti-Asian racism with strength that carries over into highly visible, boundary-breaking successes across every area of American society and culture.

Gold House has announced its annual A100 list, which “honors trailblazers who are at the forefront of this ‘New Gold Age,'” a statement from the organization reads. As usual, it includes some very recognizable names in entertainment, politics, sports, and lifestyle including Ashley Park, Simu Liu, Olivia Rodrigo, Bretman Rock, Bowen Yang, Andy Kim, Taika Waititi, Chloe Kim, and Jason Momoa. 

The honorees also include people that may not be household names, but you’ve undoubtedly noticed their impact: CEO and founder of DoorDash, Tony Xu; the co-founder and CTO of Patreon, Sam Yam; puppeteer Kathleen Kim and her Sesame Street Muppet Ji-Young; the president of Paramount Animation and Nickelodeon Animation, Ramsey Naito; and the CEO of Girl Scouts of the USA, Sofia Chang.

“Growing up in America, I didn’t realize until relatively recently that embracing and celebrating my Asian American identity was imperative to my happiness and existence as an artist and human,” honoree Ashley Park tells Allure. “I am extremely proud and grateful to be recognized amongst this year’s A100 honorees, who inspire me and so many. When we see others like us, pushing the boundaries of what anybody thought was possible, we too know there can be a place and path for us, and I’m deeply honored and touched to be part of a collective that amplifies and celebrates Asian American diaspora through storytelling.”

Some especially big names are being honored this year with special awards. Dwayne Johnson, Mindy Kaling, and Michelle Yeoh have been named A100 Legends, and eight honorees are being inducted into the A100 Hall of Fame, including Eva Chen, Gemma Chan, H.E.R., Kelly Marie Tran, and the members of Blackpink.

Read original article here

Denial of responsibility! Verve Times is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – [email protected]. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Leave a comment